Forever for the Figs Fundraiser 13.2.2012

by

Had a lovely time at the Lass O’Gowrie yesterday with friends listening to the Milestones play. It was so kind of them to donate their talents to entertain everyone.

NBN did a story on it – breaking news that they didn’t know at the time is that the pub sold a record amount of lime and soda – how’s that?

We even attracted a few anti-figgers: I think I may have shaken the hand of one of them. I hope they enjoyed themselves.

We must be pretty close to paying our debts because it went so well¬† but I for one wouldn’t mind the opportunity to have another gathering like yesterday. It was great.

And yesterday I met another person who donated their time: two community members negotiated a one-tonne piece of fig trunk out of the tree loppers and police and Council on the last day of chopping and finding someone to move it was another challenge. Thanks to Jen and Susie for arranging this and Dane and the other guys for picking up the ex-fig Рapologies for not knowing  all their names. The arborist involved is going to propagate some Laman Street fig. Cool.

Have a great day. Home

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Forever for the Figs Fundraiser 13.2.2012”

  1. Terry McCauley Says:

    So sorry that I missed this, family visiting and other things to do. I would love the attend another event if arranged.

    I am glad to hear that a great afternoon was enjoyed by many and that the target is close. I do hope that the couple of anti-figgers bought something that has contributed to the campaign, such sweet irony!

  2. Scott CooperJohnston (@ScotCoJohn) Says:

    Well done everyone, sorry we couldn’t make it!

  3. AVRIL Says:

    I would have liked to have come also, for two reason…….Support for the Pro-fig’ers and also for the music, maybe next time.
    All the best,
    Avril Brown.

    ps I am STILL Soooooo TEMPTED to write/paint a
    ‘SHAMEN ST’ sign to put up,
    Been thinking about it for ages, and I keep looking at the scrap pieces of villaboard I have, but no waterproof paint…………….
    Bummer !

  4. jerome Says:

    The lass was a wonderful choice for the fundraiser.The milestones were a happy finale’ to an otherwise disturbing part of our lives.The pedestrian crossing was accessible between the fountain and the library today , on my way to the lass. Lucky the trees were’nt there I could have been ” KILLED” It would have been a disaster of massive proportions.I would’nt have made it to the lass. Thank you council for saving my life. Yeh right ! FUCKWITS.

Leave a Reply

