Media release from General Manager 18.10.2011

by

 

Media statement by General Manager 17 October 2011

I wish to emphasise that my first priority is the safety and wellbeing of staff, Councillors, contractors and members of the public.

At this time I do not believe it is practical to continue work to remove and replace the 14 Laman Street Hills Figs.

This afternoon I met with the Lord Mayor and eight Councillors outlining my concerns regarding the safety and wellbeing of staff, Councillors, contractors and members of the public. I indicated that for these reasons I have decided to delay work to continue to remove the trees. I also outlined a proposal to move forward and ensure a safe environment for any future action in relation to the trees.  I have tonight forwarded a draft agreement for an expert evaluation to Save Our Figs to consider. 

I intend to meet with Save Our Figs tomorrow morning to further discuss the proposal. No work to remove the trees will occur until Save Our Figs has had the opportunity to consider and comment upon the proposal.

I will not make any further comment to media until after the meeting with Save Our Figs.

Home

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

